The College of Engineering and Agro-industrial Technology (CEAT) is set to conduct a Faculty Training on Technopreneurship during the four Fridays of November 2021.

The training will be conducted to develop capabilities of the faculty in mentoring students about entrepreneurship. This is to promote innovation and technologies developed in their fields of specialization. Technopreneurship is a key component in implementingthe Innovationeering track in all the undergraduate degree programs at CEAT

The invited resource speakers are Dr. Eric R. Tomacruz of the Philippine Development Foundation, Mr. Cristopher Lomboy of Shared Services Group, Prof. Gian Carlo de Jesus of the UPLB College of Economics and Ms. Jalyza Maye Jalbuena, Engr. Aldrex A. Aviso, Mr. Michael Viccil Junsay and Mr. Jose Marie Abilay of the UPLB Technology Transfer and Business Development Office.

In 2018, the college started implementing the revised four-year undergraduate degree programs with the inclusion of an additional track on Innovationeering (innovation with engineering) to stimulate the innovation mentality that complements the students’ technical knowledge. The course requirement for this track in each of the degree programs is ABE/ChE/CE/EE/IE 200b with a total of 6 academic course credits.

The term “innovationeering” was coined by Dr. Roger Billings and Sir Geoffrey Pardoe of the International Academy of Science, which means “the science of putting science into work”. Its inclusion in the CEAT degree programs is viewed to promote technology-based enterprises in the country.

The online training is part of the CEAT Webinar Series entitled “Reengineering CEAT to be a globally recognized and competitive engineering institution” one of the flagship programs of the Dean, Dr. Rossana Marie C. Amongo. It is organized by the CEAT Innovation and Entrepreneurship Committee composed of Dr. Diana Marie R. De Silva (Chair), Asst. Prof. Kathleen L. Baldoz (Co-chair), Dr. Kevin F. Yaptenco, Dr. Myra G. Borines, Dr. Ma. Bernadeth B. Lim, Asst. Prof. Maricris C. Cunanan, Engr. Allan Marco S. Mercado, Dr. Anton Domini C. Sta. Cruz and Engr. Frederic James V. Espiritu. (Mary Jane F. Gallardo)