UPLB College of Engineering and Agro-industrial Technology

PIChE awards Prof. Rex B. Demafelis as Outstanding Chemical Engineer of 2013

Contributed by: Bernadette Tongko, URA

Congratulations to Professor Rex B. Demafelis for being awarded the 2013 Outstanding Chemical Engineer Award (Academe) for his exemplary works in the field of chemical engineering during the 74th Philippine Institute of Chemical Engineers (PIChE) National Convention held February 20 to 22, 2013 at La Piazza Hotel and Convention Center, Legazpi,City.


The PIChE Outstanding Chemical Engineer Awards aims to recognize the contribution of notable chemical engineers in the industry, education, government service, research and development, and entrepreneurship.


Prof. Rex B. Demafelis (center) awarded by: (from left) Engr. Rey L. Esguerra (Awards Committee Chairman), Engr. Ferdinand C. Zapanta (PIChE President), Engr. Susan C. Benitez (National Convention Chairperson) and Engr. Fe R. Rubio (PIChE-Bicol President)


Prof. Demafelis is a Professor IV at the Department of Chemical Engineering. He is currently the Convenor of the UPLB Alternative program and Chairman of the UPLB Energy System and Solid Waste Management Committees. He has a long range of technical and professional involvement in researches on biofuels particularly on  bioethanol, biodiesel and biogas production  systems. Few of his notable awards are University of the Philippines (System wide) Alumni Association  Outstanding Alumni  in Chemical Engineering  2011, Fellow, Philippine Institute of Chemical Engineers in 2010, CHEd RePUBLICA Regional Award in 2010, UPLB Outstanding Teacher Award in Physical Sciences in  2006, Certificate of  Recognition, Board of Chemical Engineering, Professional Regulation Commission in 2005 and  Presidential Award, PIChE in 2004.


Visit Us

College of Engineering &
Agro-industrial Technology,
UP Los Baños, College 4031
Laguna, Philippines

Contact Us

Office of the Dean
Tel: +63 49 536 2873; +63 49 5364728
Fax: +63 49 536 2873
Office of the College Secretary
Tel: +63 49 536 7450



Join us on Facebook!Follow us on Twitter!